Department of Criminology & Criminal Justice

Contact:

Faculty & Staff

FACULTY:

DeVere D. Woods Jr., Ph.D.
Michigan State University; Criminal Justice; December 1997
Chair, Associate Professor, and Director of the Institute of Criminology, 1999

Teaching assignments include Law Enforcement , Criminal Justice, Criminal Investigation, and Criminalistics. Research and publication interests include Community Policing, Police Management and Administration, and Policy Implementation.

HH 206; (812) 237-2190; DeVere.Woods@indstate.edu
Avdi Avdija, Ph.D.  
Indiana University of Pennsylvania; Criminology; May 2010
Assistant Professor, 2010

Teaching assignments include Law Enforcement, Criminal Justice, Criminal Investigation, Techniques of Interviewing and Interrogation, and Crime Analysis. Research and publication interests include Police Policy Issues, Evidence-Based Policing, and Crime Analysis.

HH 242; (812) 237-9652; Avdi.Avdija@indstate.edu
Shannon M. Barton-Bellessa, Ph.D.
University of Cincinnati; Criminal Justice; August 2000
Professor, 2002.

Teaching assignments include Community-Based Corrections, Research Methods, and Criminological Theory. Research and publication interests include Issues in Juvenile Justice and Delinquency, Correctional Programming, Correctional Officer Job Satisfaction, Court Improvement, Intermediate Sanctions, Gangs, and Homicides. Curriculum Vita

HH 240; (812) 237-8332; Shannon.Barton-Bellessa@indstate.edu
    Photo Presently Unavailable Travis Behem, M.S.
Indiana State University 2006
Instructor, Academic Advisor, 2013

Teaching assignments include Introduction to Criminology, Report Writing for Criminal Justice Professionals. Research and publication interests include Policing in a post 9/11 society, National database for DNA, Privacy issues and Policing, The New Drone War.

HH 214; (812) 237-2196; Travis.Behem@indstate.edu
Tyler Burns, M.S.
Indiana State University
Instructor, Distance Education Coordinator, Academic Advisor, 2009

Teaching assignments include Introduction to Criminal Justice System, and Introduction to Individuals, Societies, and Justice.

HH 211; (812) 237-3039; Jonathon.Burns@indstate.edu
Lisa Kay Decker, J.D.
Indiana University School of Law; Doctor of Jurisprudence; May 1985
Associate Professor, 1995.

Teaching assignments include Law Enforcement, Courts, and Criminal Law and Law and Society.   Research and publication interests include Criminal Law, Decision making processes in the Courts, Police Personnel Selection and Education/Training in Law Enforcement.

HH 212; (812) 237-2200;
Lisa.Decker@indstate.edu
Jennifer N. Grimes, Ph.D.
Arizona State University; Justice Studies; May 2007
Assistant Professor, 2006.

Teaching assignments include Corrections, Research Methods, and Theory.  Research and publication interests include Corrections and Sentencing, Media & Justice, and Punishment & Social Control.

HH 237; (812) 237-2168;  Jennifer.Grimes@indstate.edu
Mark S. Hamm, Ph.D.
Arizona State University; Public Administration; May 1985
Professor, 1985.

Teaching assignments include Research Methods, Criminology Theory, Terrorism and Public Policy.  Research and publication interests include Terrorism, Prison Subcultures, Human Rights, Cultural Criminology.

HH 238; (812) 237-2197; Mark.Hamm@indstate.edu
  Jennifer L. Murray, Ph.D.
Arizona State University; Justice and Social Inquiry; May 2011
Assistant Professor, 2011

Teaching assignments include Serial Killers, Introduction to Law Enforcement, Introduction to Criminal Justice, and Ethics in Criminal Justice. Research and publication interests include The Origins of Violent Crime and Social Deviancy, Mass and Serial Murder, The Psychology of Identity, and Surveillance and Social Control.

HH 231; (812) 237-3006; Jennifer.Murray@indstate.edu
David Polizzi, Ph.D.
Duquesne University; Psychology; December 2002
Assistant Professor, 2005.

Teaching assignments include Correctional Counseling, Techniques of Correctional Interviewing, Criminology, Correctional Group Therapy and Report Writing. Research and publication interests include Correctional Counseling and Rehabilitation and  Social Construction of Race and the Offender.

HH 239; (812) 237-3437; David.Polizzi@indstate.edu
Sudipto Roy, Ph.D. 
Western Michigan University; Criminal Justice; May 1991
Professor, 1994.

Teaching assignments include Research Methods, Theory, Juvenile Delinquency, and Community Corrections.  Research and publication interests include Intermediate Sanctions (Electronic Monitoring, Day Reporting, Restitution, etc.) and Victimology.

HH 228; (812) 237-2198; Sudipto.Roy@indstate.edu
Wilson Head Shot Franklin T. Wilson, Ph.D.
Sam Houston State University; Criminal Justice; August 2006
Assistant Professor, 2008
Associated Professor with the ISU Department of African American Studies

Founding Chair of the Annual International Crime, Media, and Popular Culture Studies Conference www.indstate.edu/ccj/popcultureconference

Dr. Wilson's teaching assignments include Research Methods, Advanced Criminological Theory, Drugs & Society, and Crime & Media. His Research and publication interests include the depiction of municipal police officers in the media and its impact on recruitment and retention. Additionally, Dr. Wilson is currently researching and writing a book on the largest prison cemetery in the United States. Other areas of research and publication interests include Race & Socioeconomic Class Issues, Public & Prison Health Issues, Death Penalty Issues and the The History of Island Prisons. His Research has been published in leading journals such as The Prison Journal, Women and Criminal Justice, Race and Justice, Criminal Justice and Law Review, and the Journal of Criminal Justice and Popular Culture. Additionally, his research has been featured in numerous news outlets including the New York Times, Pittsburg Gazette, Houston Chronicle, Texas Monthly, and U.S. Catholic. Dr. Wilson was the winner of the 2010 Indiana State University Tenure-track International Faculty Award.

HH 230; (812) 237-2199; Frank.Wilson@indstate.edu

 

EMERITI FACULTY:

Edmund W. Grosskopf, Ed.D.
Indiana University
Assistant Professor Emeritus.

Teaching assignments include Introduction to Law Enforcement, Criminal Investigations, Law Enforcement Administration, Police Community Relations, Private Security, and Loss Prevention.

HH 243; (812) 237-2162; Edmund.Grosskopf@indstate.edu
Robert G. Huckabee, Ph.D.
Sam Houston State University
Associate Professor Emeritus.

Teaching assignments include Criminology, Criminal Justice, Law Enforcement, and Corrections. Research and publication interests include Victimization and History of Criminal Justice.

HH 219; (812) 237-2195; Robert.Huckabee@indstate.edu
Jeffrey L. Schrink, Ed.D.
Indiana University
Professor Emeritus.

Teaching assignments include Introduction to Criminology and Corrections Internships.

HH 229; (812) 237-2172; Jeffrey.Schrink@indstate.edu
   

ADJUNCT FACULTY:



Gary Hartsock, M.S.

Indiana State University
Lecturer.

Teaching assignments include Institution Based and Community Based Corrections, Correctional Counseling, and Correctional Administration.


Roland M. Kohr, M.D.
Indiana University
Visiting Associate Professor.

Teaching assignments include Advanced Criminalistics and Death Investigations. Current research includes examination of less-than lethal weapons and their effects.
Matthew J. Morgan, M.S.
Indiana State University
Lecturer.

Teaching assignments include Criminology and Introduction to Law Enforcement.

Matthew.Morgan@indstate.edu
Edward B. Motley, M.S.
Salve Regina University
Lecturer.

Teaching assignments include Institution Based and Community Based Corrections, and Correctional Administration.
Eloise Pitt, M.P.A.
Kentucky State University
Lecturer. Academic Advisor, 2007

Teaching Assignments include Introduction to Corrections, Correctional Institutions, Community Based Corrections, and Juvenile Delinquency.

HH 233; (812)-237-2180; Eloise.Pitt@indstate.edu

OFFICE STAFF:


Linda Everly
Office Assistant
HH 210  (812) 237-2193
Linda.Everly@indstate.edu

Brenda Starkey
Student Services Assistant
Institute of Criminology
HH 208  (812) 237-2191
Brenda.Starkey@indstate.edu

Jennifer Platek
Student Assistant
(812) 237-2192

GRADUATE ASSISTANTS:



Kevin Firestone
HH 205 (812) 237-8437
kfirestone@sycamores.indstate.edu 


Rex Hammond 
HH 205 (812) 237-8437
rhammond1@sycamores.indstate.edu


Jordan Isaacs
HH 205 (8120 237-8437
jisaacs2@sycamores.indstate.edu


Mariah Lucas
HH 217 (812) 237-4360
mlucas10@sycamores.indstate.edu
 

Leah Newton
HH 217 (812) 237-4360
 lnewton4@sycamores.indstate.edu